There are many awards – in Canada, and around the world – that recognize employers for their commitment to diversity and inclusion. Yet there are relatively few honours that acknowledge the people who work tirelessly to help make their workplaces, and Canadian society, more inclusive.

CCDI’s Awards of Success have been designed to recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to diversity and inclusion here in Canada – whether internally to their organization or externally to the community at large.

Two winners per category will be selected - one for Eastern Canada (ON, QC, NB, PE, NS, NL) and one for Western Canada (MB, SK, AB, BC, YT, NT, NU). Nominations are accepted in the following categories: 

We are proud to present the 2019 winners:

  • Community Contributor of the Year
    • East: Marilyn Verghis, William Osler Health System
    • West: Elise Ahenkorah, inclusion FACTOR
  • D&I Practitioner of the Year
    • East: Zoya Zayler, Accenture
    • West: Valerie Pruegger, University of Calgary
  • Employer Initiative of the Year
    • East: Sobeys - Sensory-Friendly Shopping Program
    • West: Tolko Industries – Leadership Impact for Women
  • ERG of the Year
    • East: Fidelity Investments Canada ULC – The Enable Games
    • West: Government of Alberta - LGBTQ2S+ Employee Resource Group Learning Initiative
  • Senior Executive of the Year
    • East: David Leonard, McCarthy Tetrault LLP
    • West: Anna Tudela

Click here to see previous Awards of Success winners.

Should you have any questions regarding the Awards of Success, please contact us at

Important documents:

Please note, we are changing things up for 2019. We will no longer be hosting a gala event in Toronto and Calgary, and will instead be connecting directly, and in person with winners.